Total Pageviews

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

The Call - Reconciled

Released : 1986
Recorded at the Power Station, NYC, '85. Mastered at Sterling Sound, NYC
Genre : Alternative Rock, New Wave
Label : Elektra
Producer : The Call

Though none of the singles from The Call's Reconciled made a dent on the pop charts, the anthemic march "I Still Believe" and the galloping "Everywhere I Go" (with backup vocals by Jim Kerr and Peter Gabriel) both received significant AOR and college radio airplay. It significantly raised the profile of the quartet and their earnest, U2-like brand of rock. It is easy to apply spiritual overtones to the socially conscious lyrics, but the words are malleable enough to be mainstream and only on occasion become heavy handed ("Blood Red (America)"). Robbie Robertson plays guitar on the thundering stomp "The Morning" and the song itself has the same vibe as the band's later hit "Let the Day Begin." Some of the keyboards sound a bit dated, but, overall, Reconciled is enjoyable and established the band as one of the better purveyors of '80s "big music."


1. Everywhere I Go
2. I Still Believe (Great Design)
3. Blood Red (America)
4. The Morning
5. Oklahoma
6. With Or Without Reason
7. Sanctuary
8. Tore The Old Place Down
9. Even Now


No comments: