Total Pageviews

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

Deiphago - Filipino Antichrist

Released : 2009
Genre : Black Metal, Death Metal
Label : Hells Headbangers

I've made it something of a minor mission to track the new extremes that metal embraces from time to time. I can recall how Napalm Death solved the issue of speed by simply flooring the accelerator all the way, and basically entreating anyone who could keep up to do so as well. Then we had the noise/chaos factor, which Bestial Warlust, Blasphemy and others tore through with vicious abandon, forging the fires of war metal, while a few years afterward, Conqueror and Revenge threw more fuel onto that inferno. And for awhile, Revenge seemed to be the final word, a fusion of chaos, noise and only barely perceptable structure. But with fusions of death and black metal on a considerable high right now, it seems the time may be right for another leap. Enter Deiphago.
This album is being viewed by those who encounter it as either a new crushing level of power and fury, or a noise-drenched waste of time, with no real middle ground between the reactions. There's certainly a Revenge-like quality to it, but the main difference is that there's so much chaos to the sound that guitar riffs are even less perceptable, and the vocals, which are of the shrieking, but oddly clear variety, dominate the mix. It's difficult to speak of individual songs because the fury disintigrates most of the nuances that differenciate them, as do the generally full tilt tempos. There's a cover version of Sarcofago's "War," which is pretty straight-forward,and the only time things get even remotely under control is when the title track appears, being the only slightly "normal" metal song on hand here.
Now here's my big cop-out. I really don't know what to think about this record. I can't really say I enjoyed it, but it's clear that a lot of dedication and seriousness went into making it. And Hell's Headbangers must be 200% behind this band, as witness the amazing gatefold 180 gram vinyl pressing, including a poster and heavy duty lyric sheet. I rate this as a 3, hoping that over repeated spins I can penetrate the fury and discover the music within. It's happened with other similarly devastating records, so we'll see. But one thing is certain; this is one of the most uncompromising metal albums ever released.


1. Intro: Annihilation
2. Christ Eater
3. Articles Of Death
4. Storming Chaos
5. Command Destruct
6. Subliminal Satan
7. Satanic Metal
8. Hate (Sarcófago Cover)
9. Satan, Semen And Blood
10.Filipino Antichrist


No comments: