Total Pageviews

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

999 - Seperates

Released : October 1978
Genre : Punk
Length : 38:45
Label : United Artists

From the opening blare of "Homicide" -- 999's sixth single and first British hit -- it was apparent that Separates was to be no "ordinary" punk second album. Almost without exception, every other band in the pack had faltered or fallen when it came time to delivering their sophomore effort. 999, however, simply looked back at what they'd already accomplished, then made certain that they repeated it, with added improvements all over the show. So, the tunes are tighter, the riffs are crunchier, the choruses are even more memorable, and the entire album -- released just six months after its 999 predecessor -- stands among the most timeless artifacts in all punk history. Adhering to the same format as Fan Club's 1989 reissue of the album, the Captain Oi! repackaging ups the ante even further with four bonus tracks, with the "Soldier" B-side weighing in among the finest tracks in the band's entire repertoire. Of the others, "You Can't Buy Me" was the flip of the "Feelin' Alright With the Crew" single, while "Waiting" and "Action" are pulled from a free 12" single given away to fan club members on the band's own LaBritain label.


1. Homicide
2. Tulse Hill Night
3. Rael Rean
4. Let's Face It
5. Crime Part 1 / Part 2
6. Feelin' Alright With The Crew
7. Out Of Reach
8. Subterfuge
9. Wolf
10.Brightest View
11.High Energy Plan


No comments: