Total Pageviews

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Metallica - ...And Justice for All

Released : August 25, 1988 or September 6, 1988
Recorded : January 28–May 1, 1988 at One on One Studios, Los Angeles, California
Genre : Thrash metal
Length : 65:29
Label : Elektra, Vertigo
Producer : Metallica, Flemming Rasmussen

...And Justice for All is the fourth studio album by the American heavy metal band Metallica. It was released on August 25, 1988 through Elektra Records. It is the first Metallica album to feature bassist Jason Newsted because of the death of the band's bassist Cliff Burton a few years prior. The album was certified 8x platinum by the RIAA on June 9, 2003.
The album's dark lyrical material features a conceptual uniformity around notions of political and legal injustice, as seen through the prism of war, censored speech, and nuclear brinkmanship. This is musically accompanied by what may be the most complex song structures in Metallica's discography. The arrangements are particularly complicated for a thrash metal album, being likened to progressive metal in their complexity. The album is also noted for its nearly-inaudible bass guitar (Newsted was quoted as saying "The Justice album wasn't something that really felt good for me, because you really can't hear the bass") and dry, sterile production, and therefore has been called a "slightly flawed masterpiece and the pinnacle of Metallica's progressive years" by
The front cover depicts the statue of Lady Justice (also known by fans as Doris) cracked, bound by ropes, her breasts exposed, and both of her scales filled with dollars. The words "…And Justice for All" are written in graffiti to the right. The cover was made by Stephen Gorman after a concept by James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich.


1. Blackened
2. ...And Justice For All
3. Eye Of The Beholder
4. One
5. The Shortest Straw
6. Harvester Of Sorrow
7. The Frayed Ends Of Sanity
8. To Live Is To Die
9. Dyers Eve


No comments: